What are the 3 Levels of eLearning?

If you work in eLearning, you’ve probably heard people refer to the “levels” of eLearning before. But, the same question arises each time of what these “levels” represent in the eLearning industry. There are three generally accepted types (aka “levels”) of eLearning that will, in turn, affect the learning experience, cost, and development time of your project.

Level 1 (Standard)

Some refer to level 1 learning as the “click next” style of eLearning. It has very low amounts of interactivity and there is a lot of static text and images. Level 1 quizzes are usually basic multiple-choice and true-or-false questions. Level 1, while basic, does have its place: it can be a quick and inexpensive way to cover simple rules or procedures. This style is the roots of eLearning and develops into an enhanced style in Level 2.

Level 2 (Intermediate)

At level 2, learning courses start to have richer multimedia. Courses at this level typically contain some audio and video, as well as some basic animations and transitions. This level of content is also often accompanied by narration and activities such as “click and reveal” interactions. Typical level 2 quizzes are drag-and-drops and matching activities. This level gives the individual more power than to just read, watch and navigate. Level 2 learning is often used because it’s a nice middle ground that offers a sharpened experience for the learner without too much development expense for the designer.

Level 3 (Premium)

When you get to level 3, the courses become a lot more sophisticated than the previous levels. This essentially creates a more complex and interactive learning experience, with learners having to put higher levels of work in to complete the set training. Level 3 can include extensive use of audio, video, transitions, animations, simulations, and more. Quizzing could involve branched, scenario-based questions that allow a learner to explore multiple paths and feedback levels. Level 3 learning is often developed for more advanced training, such as flight simulation or medical training.

What are the benefits of eLearning?

Learning is designed to engage and inspire learners in order to result in enhanced learning outcomes. Developing and designing an eLearning course may not be enough unless the course succeeds in engaging and motivating the audience to learn. Interactivity has been proven to activate long-term memory and improve attention, which are the essential parts of all learning mechanisms.

Elearning courses encourage reflection, boosts engagement, and enhances knowledge retention which is beneficial for employers if implemented as employees will apply their newly enhanced skills in the workplace.

Why do you need to know about these levels of eLearning?

When you’re taking on a new course design, it’ll help you identify which level of eLearning the new project falls under so you can appropriately estimate the time and assets needed to create the course. Regarding the levels of difficulty in creating an eLearning course, it is obvious that a level 1 learning course is much quicker and more affordable than creating a level 3 course. It’s important to understand this to be able to communicate with your line manager or client about realistic expectations.